The foundation stone of Clifton House was laid on 7 August 1771, with the building opening on 17 September 1774. Set up by philanthropic merchants Clifton House was originally opened as the Belfast Poor House. Today it is the city’s oldest working building and is still owned by Belfast Charitable Society.
It was used as a nursing home and hospital for older people and is now also a unique event venue and Heritage Centre. This Grade A Listed building is one of the finest surviving pieces of Georgian architecture in Belfast.